Hardware firewall


The best firewall is a hardware firewall that is completely separate from your operating system. It need not be a dedicated router, could be an

Hardware firewall

old pentium box running Linux. Below I have found some sites that have How To’s on setting up an outside hardware router using an old computer and using a little linux program that fits on a single floppy disk.

Brief Description:
floppyfw is a router with the advanced firewall-capabilities in Linux

that fits on one single floppy disc.

Features:
Access lists, IP-masquerading (Network Address Translation), connection tracked packet filtering and (quite) advanced routing. Package for traffic shaping is also available.

 

Requires only a 386sx or better with two network interface cards, a 1.44MB floppy drive and 12MByte of RAM ( for less than 12M and no FPU, use the 1.0 series, which will stay maintained. )

 

Very simple packaging system. Is used for editors, PPP, VPN, traffic shaping and whatever comes up. (now this is looking even more like LRP (may it rest in peace) but floppyfw is not a fork.)
Logging through klogd/syslogd, both local and remote.
Serial support for console over serial port.

 

DHCP server and DNS cache for internal networks.

floppyfw

 
h#tp://www.zelow.no/floppyfw/

 

 

Sentry Firewall CD-ROM is a Linux-based bootable CDROM suitable for use as an inexpensive and easy to maintain firewall, server, or IDS(Intrusion Detection System) Node. The system is designed to be immediately configurable for a variety of different operating environments via a configuration file located on a floppy disk, a

local hard drive, and/or a network via HTTP(S), FTP, SFTP, or SCP.

The Sentry Firewall CD is a complete Linux system that runs off of an initial ramdisk, much like a floppy-based system, and a CD. The default kernel is a current 2.4.x series kernel with various Netfilter patches applied. An OpenWall-patched current 2.2.x kernel is also available on the CD.

 

Booting from the CDROM is a fairly familiar process. The BIOS execs the bootloader(Syslinux) – which then displays a bootprompt and loads the kernel and ramdisk into memory. Once the kernel is running, the ramdisk is then mounted as root(/). At this point our configuration scripts are run(written in perl) that configure the rest of the system. It is the job of these configure scripts to put the various startup and

system files into the proper location using either what is declared in the configuration file(sentry.conf) or the system defaults located in the /etc/default directory.

Most of the critical files used at boot time can be replaced with your own copy when declared in the configuration file. This is essentially how we allow the user to configure the system using his/her

own

All of the binaries, files, scripts, etc, used to create the CD-ROM are also available on the CD-ROM. So, with a little practice, you can easily bu

ild and customize your own configuration and init files.bootable Sentry Firewall CD. Please see the HOWTO for more details.

 
Sentry Firewall
ht*p://www.sentryfirewall.com/docs.html#overview

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Hardware firewall

  1. I simply want to say I’m new to blogs and definitely loved your web page. Likely I’m want to bookmark your blog . You definitely have terrific posts. Thanks a bunch for sharing your blog.

  2. I just want to mention I am just all new to blogging and site-building and honestly loved you’re page. Likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You really have good articles and reviews. Appreciate it for sharing your webpage.

  3. Pingback: Radiant Heating
  4. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

  5. One thing I would really like to touch upon is that weight loss program fast may be possible by the right diet and exercise. Someone’s size not just affects appearance, but also the complete quality of life. Self-esteem, despression symptoms, health risks, plus physical abilities are influenced in putting on weight. It is possible to make everything right whilst still having a gain. Should this happen, a medical problem may be the root cause. While too much food and not enough work out are usually at fault, common medical ailments and traditionally used prescriptions could greatly add to size. Thanks a bunch for your post right here.

  6. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read even more things about it!

  7. The new Zune browser is surprisingly good, but not as good as the iPod’s. It works well, but isn’t as fast as Safari, and has a clunkier interface. If you occasionally plan on using the web browser that’s not an issue, but if you’re planning to browse the web alot from your PMP then the iPod’s larger screen and better browser may be important.

  8. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  9. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website? My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would truly benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Thanks!

  10. Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to take a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and outstanding style and design.

  11. Heya are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you require any coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  12. Howdy! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  13. Hello, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing blog!

  14. Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

  15. Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

  16. Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thank you Nonetheless I am experiencing concern with ur rss . Don�t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss downside? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

Leave a Reply

